

July 15, 2019

News Release

For Immediate Release

Lynda Dickson newly elected Haa Shaa du Hen for Carcross/Tagish First Nation

CARCROSS – Carcross/Tagish First Nation is honoured to announce the new Haa Shaa du Hen and the candidates results for the C/TFN 2019 by-election that took place today.

Results:

Lynda Dickson: 123 votes Maria Benoit: 89 votes Marilyn Jensen: 53 votes Cynthia James: 37 votes Michael Smarch: 8 votes

We welcome Lynda Dickson as Haa Shaa du Hen for Carcross/Tagish First Nation and congratulates all candidates who were devoted to fulfilled this important and crucial position for our government. Lynda Dickson will take office as soon as possible and C/TFN will accommodate the newly elected Haa Shaa du Hen by allowing a proper transition period that might be needed. C/TFN will be traditionally welcoming the newly elected Haa Shaa du Hen during the *Swearing In Ceremony* happening on Wednesday morning July 17th at the Gazebo in Carcross. The Ceremony will be followed by a community BBQ.

Lynda Dickson will serve as Haa Shaa du Hen for a short period of 10 months as per the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Constitution 13.3 saying; "... the newly elected Haa Shaa du Hen shall complete the remaining term." C/TFN will have another Election in May 2020 to elect a new Haa Shaa du Hen that will serve a regular term of 4 years.

-30-

<u>Contact:</u> C/TFN, Communications Coordinator Governance Department Daphne Pelletier Vernier <u>daphne.vernier@ctfn.ca</u> (867) 821-4251 ext. 8235