

Carcross/Tagish First Nation Phone 867-821-3510, Toll free 1-866-822-5314 Fax 867-821-4305 www.ctfn.ca Land Claim Agreements Carcross/Tagish First Nation Ratification Committee Lands Trailer IR#4 Box 130 Carcross, Yukon Y0B 1B0

Members: Heather Jones Carcross: c/o Maria Benoit
Debbie Hoffman Carcross/Tagish First Nation

Justin Ferbey Box 130

Carcross, Yukon YOB 1B0

Re: Carcross/Tagish First Nation (CTFN) Ratification Vote

The results of the referendum conducted February 2005 established a clear mandate. A ratification vote is required to determine if the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Final Agreement and Self-Government Agreement will be accepted or rejected by the eligible voters. In the following weeks Carcross/Tagish First Nation citizens will be provided further information about the Final Agreement and Self-Government Agreements.

In preparation for the vote, a Ratification Committee has been appointed by Canada, the Yukon, and Carcross/Tagish First Nation for two purposes: 1) to provide information regarding the Final Agreement and Self-Government Agreement; and 2) to conduct the ratification vote. The members on the Ratification Committee are Heather Jones, Debbie Hoffman, and Justin Ferbey. These individuals operate independently from the three parties – Canada, the Yukon, and Carcross/Tagish First Nation. As such, the Ratification Committee will conduct the information campaign and vote in an unbiased manner.

The questions that eligible Carcross/Tagish First Nation citizens will be voting on have been reviewed and agreed to by Canada, the Yukon, and Carcross/Tagish First Nation, and will arrive in the mail shortly. The Ratification Committee will ensure that Carcross/Tagish First Nation citizens have access to information relevant to the questions contained on the ballot.

On May 26, 27, and 28 in Carcross, and Whitehorse, eligible Carcross/Tagish First Nation citizens will have the opportunity to either approve or disapprove of these agreements. For added convenience advance polls will be held on May 12th and 13th and mail-in ballots will also be provided. Information regarding the location of polling stations will be posted in the coming weeks.

Maria Benoit will also be hired to assist the Ratification Committee with their duties, and will be the point of contact for the Committee. Ms. Benoit will be located at the Lands Trailer, and can be contacted at the following numbers:

Toll Free: 1-866-822-5314 Locally: 867-821-3510



Carcross/Tagish First Nation Phone 867-821-3510, Toll free 1-866-822-5314 Fax 867-821-4305 www.ctfn.ca Land Claim Agreements Carcross/Tagish First Nation Ratification Committee Lands Trailer IR#4 Box 130 Carcross, Yukon Y0B 1B0

Additional information can be accessed via the Ratification Committee webpage: www.ratification.ctfn.ca. The first information campaign activity will be the Trade Fair which will be held at the Carcross Community Hall on April, 26th, from 11 am to 4:30pm.

We welcome any suggestions from the Carcross/Tagish First Nation community to ensure eligible voters receive the information they require in order to participate in the ratification vote.

| Thank you, | |
|----------------|--|
| | |
| Justin Ferbey, | |