Carcross/Tagish First Nation Constitution

C/TFN constitution amended February 2021


The Objectives of the Carcross/Tagish First Nation people in adopting this Constitution are to establish a government which shall: 

  • provide a unified voice for the Carcross/Tagish First Nation people and adhere to a system of government prescribed by this Constitution to ensure equality and unity of the Carcross/Tagish people;
  • strengthen and revitalizethe traditional clan system of the Carcross/Tagish people; 
  • model integrity and respect in all functions of government for the benefit and protection of its people;
  • provide responsible government including fiscal accountability and responsibility; 
  • establish laws and policies consistent with the customs and traditions of the Carcross/Tagish people to foster the unity of the Carcross/Tagish First Nation;
  • provide law and policy for the use, management, administration, regulation and development of the land and resources of the Carcross/Tagish First Nation; 
  • manage and administer the finances and assets of the Carcross/Tagish First Nation including any and all benefits realized from any land claims settlement; 
  • accept a trust responsibility for those Carcross/Tagish people requiring protection;
  • support and represent the interests of the Carcross/Tagish people in all areas of responsibility in local, territorial, national and international forums;
  • negotiate land claims agreements with other orders of governments and ensure the implementation of those agreements;
  • safeguard the territories of the Carcross/Tagish people as their heritage in perpetuity; and
  • carry out other functions and responsibilities required to achieve the objectives of this Constitution.

Constitution Review Committee

In July 2019 the Constitution Review Committee met to discuss commitments and expectations of the Committee and establish rules. The clan-based Committee will primarily meet in Carcross, and Citizens are encouraged to work with through the Committee members to raise suggestions, make recommendations or ask questions. The Committee will work by consensus to make recommendations which will be provided to the Executive Council and General Council for approval. The Committee hopes to be done its work by the spring of 2020. The Constitution Review Committee is composed of;

Ishkahittaan: Christle Moulton (Alterante: Roberta Hawryluk)
Daklaweidi: Diane Johns (Alternate: Erika Whelan)
Gaanaxteidi: James Kawchuk (AlternatE: Zena McLean)
Yanyeidi: George Shepherd (Alternate: TBD)
Kookhittaan: Rose Sellars (Alternate: TBD)
Deisheetaan: Mark Wedge (Alternate: TBD)

Ex-officio technical support:
Administrative support: Sheena Johns
Legal counsel: Gavin Gardiner


Next meeting dates: 
August 20th 2019
September 20th, 2019
October 4th, 2019

Constitution Review Workplan 

Constitution Review Expectations and Commitments